Amazing Speedpaint Videos by Viet-My Bui aka Ravenskar


Viet-My Bui is a digital painter and illustrator who is not afraid to share her artistic experiences. She posts process animations and uploads speedpaint sessions, too. She creates with a Wacom Intuos2 tablet and Paint Tool SAI, does the post processing with Photoshop and records the whole process with Camtasia.

Possibly related Artcore Café posts:

Quoting from Viet-My’s blog.

“Sometimes lineart is present in my pieces. I may be painting over loose pencil lines, or controlled pencil lineart. When I’m going for maximum detail and precision, I’ll make a messy digital sketch and then gradually erase the bits I don’t want. It’s a ridiculously painful process, but I eventually get down to very clean lineart that still has some vestige of my original intentions. It’d be easier if I just drew over my rough sketch on a new layer, but I always find that my sketches work best the first time ‘round.

Other times, I only have a very rough sketch to start with, and I paint over it entirely. Along the way, I may arbitrarily add a few outlines here and there – for emphasis/aesthetics. I sort of just wing it. Lined and lineless; I like both kinds of art. I like how they bring about very different outcomes.

I love using textures. They have such varied effects on the colours/moods of my pieces. But sometimes I incorporate a texture earlier in the process, painting it in, integrating it carefully. Occasionally I mess around with the other brushes, applying texture manually

In my speedpaints, I tend to use a completely different method. I take these as an opportunity to experiment with brushes and approaches, so I tend to lay a mishmash of shapes in a monochromatic colour scheme, and mould them as I go, chipping away. I completely wing these; I never know what I’m going to draw. There is no initial ‘sketch’.”

Speedpaint: 20 minutes
Artcore Café

Speedpaint: 20 minutes
Artcore Café

Speedpaint: 35 minutes
Artcore Café

Speedpaint: 27 minutes
Artcore Café

Speedpaint: 35 minutes
Artcore Café

Speedpaint: 45 minutes
Artcore Café

Speedpaint: 23 minutes
Artcore Café

Speedpaint: 24 minutes
Artcore Café

Speedpaint: 40 minutes
Artcore Café

Speedpaint: 1 hour
Artcore Café

WIP: about 2 hours
Artcore Café

Illustration: about 2 hours
Artcore Café

Digital painting: about 11 hours
Artcore Café

Videos from Viet-My’s YouTube account.

About Petra

Nagy utazás | Egy magyar lány Törökországban ArtCore Café | Petra's Treasure Box
This entry was posted in Digital paintings, Illustrations, Portraits, Speedpaint, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

